Check Out My Buddhadharma Report from Amnesty International’s Town Hall in Washington, DC, with Aung San Suu Kyi

Originally posted by Danny Fisher

Just a Buddhist Minister Trying to Benefit Beings

“The Lady” shines her light in DC… Photo by the author.

I still can’t quite believe what happened last week: I was in our nation’s capital with Amnesty International, my palJoshua Eaton, and others for a very special event with none other than Daw Aung San Suu Kyi herself!

As a practitioner who has long been an admirer of “the Lady,” as well as a scholar with an abiding research interest in her, I can’t even begin to tell you how thrilled I was to see her in person — and from the press box with Joshua no less!

On that note, I hope you will head on over toBuddhadharma: The Practitioner’s Quarterly Online, where my report on the event has just been posted (along with full video of the town hall).

I’ve blogged a lot about “Daw Suu,” as a search of her name at this website will reveal. Most recently before this report, though, I reviewed Luc Besson’s recent biopic The Lady for Shambhala Sun Space. (The film comes out on DVD and Blu-Ray in the U.S. this coming Tuesday, October 2nd, by the way.)